• English
  • ภาษาไทย
Home > Ks3imyc > International Middle Years Curriculum

International Middle Years Curriculum

The International Middle Years Curriculum (IMYC) is a challenging, engaging, internationally-minded, concept-focused curriculum designed specifically for the unique learning needs for 11-14 year olds in Key Stage 3.

The IMYC helps students to make meaning, connect learning and develop their minds at this integral stage of development. Based on cognitive scientific theory, students learn in a way that promotes curricular connections which make the topics and objectives easier to access, resulting in more independent and motivated learners.

In each year there are 4 units. Each unit is driven by a Big Idea which links different subject areas across the curriculum and connects to the wider world or the students’ own personal experiences. The students keep a learning journal over the course of the unit, with entries prompted by thought-provoking questions which develop their skills of reflection. Each student is attached to a learning journal mentor who reviews their entries at the end of each unit and provides guidance for future improvements.

IMYC Units
Term Year 7 Year 8 Year 9
1a Balance Relationship Development
1b Structure Reflection Identity
2 Risk Tradition Community
3 Collaboration Communication Interpretation

Over the course of Key Stage 3 the IMYC aims to develop students who are adaptable, good communicators, thoughtful, resilient, cooperative and respectful. They will also be well prepared to meet the learning challenges they will face in their future studies.